Databases

To get your login information to access KYVL databases, log in to your library account here.
 
eSequels databaseeSequels.com

Remote access available with library card.

eSequels allows you to find the newest title by your favorite author or spot a title that you may have missed. eSequels lists the most popular series, so you can discover a new author or rediscover an enjoyable series of years past. The database also gives brief annotations that describe each title without “giving away” any surprise endings. Last, but most important for some readers, eSequels lists the novels in the correct reading sequence so you can start at the beginning, rather than blunder into the middle of “Act III.”


 

Cypress Resume

http://www.cypressresume.com/index.php?c=cythianalibrary

Cypress Resume

Remote access available with library card.

Effortlessly create professional resumes in minutes! Cypress Resume is a very simple approach to creating a resume and cover letter and is designed for the non-writer or inexperienced applicants. Choose between more than 100,000 professions and 18,000 ready-made statements; use as they are or edit to fit your circumstance. Cypress Resume contains step-by-step instructions and offers online storage of data for easy retrieval from any internet accessible computer.


America's Historical Newspapers

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/signin/CynthianaHarrisonPublicLibrary

America’s Historical Newspapers

Remote access available with library card.

Explore early American history to support genealogical and local history research, school homework assignments and more. Features more than 1,100 historical newspapers from all 50 states. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

 


America's Genealogy Bank Database

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/signin/CynthianaHarrisonPublicLibrary

America’s Genealogy Bank

Remote access available with library card.

Easily search and browse millions of genealogies, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements and more from 1652 to the present. Includes historical newspapers, books and documents, along with modern obituaries and the Social Security Death Index.

 


KYVL Database

kyvl.org

KYVL Databases

Remote access available with library card.

KYVL provides access to over 60 encyclopedias, full text and citation databases as well as test prep and skill-building resources, How to Do Research tutorials and more. Contact the reference desk for a username and password to use KYVL at home.


 

ancestry.com library edition - database

http://www.ancestrylibrary.com/

Ancestry.com

Must be on site to access through library login.

We’ve partnered with ProQuest to offer a special collection of records in the Ancestry Library Edition that will enhance the offerings of any library. In addition to a vast resource of collections, we offer a comprehensive research experience combining our advanced search technology and image viewing of original documents on Ancestry.com.

Ancestry Library Edition is available in the U.S., the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Denmark, Ireland and Norway, and provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, plus local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s.


HeritageQuest database

http://www.heritagequestonline.com/barcode?aid=9310

HeritageQuest® Online

Remote access available with library card.

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin?

Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.


 

LawReader database

https://lawreader.com/

Law Reader

No remote access available.

Offers a place to find information about legal topics. You may peruse various records of decisions, as well as access periodicals on legal topics.


World Book Online database

http://www.worldbookonline.com/?subacct=L9428

World Book

Remote access available with library card.

Articles in the World Book encyclopedia generally include links to related information, both within the encyclopedia and online, in addition to questions for review.

More info on World Book Databases…

Early Learning

  • Videos – variety of different topics to choose from
  • Games – tracing, matching, concentration, true or false
  • Stories – variety of stories in audio format
  • Activities – draw, color, print, paint by number

Kids

  • Pictures & videos
  • World of animals
  • Activities, maps, and more
  • Games
  • Important people
  • Compare places
  • Science project activities for class
  • Dictionary

Students

  • Advanced search – 4 different options for searching a subject, browsing options
  • Quick links – save your research, timelines, citation builder, browse by subject, maps & atlas
  • Current events – behind the headlines
  • Biography center
  • Featured media

Advanced

  • Basic search or advanced search – 5 different search options

Timelines

  • Search timelines for numerous subjects – Continents, countries and regions; Literature; Notable people ;
    Science & Technology; Sports and games; Systems & Institutions; The Arts; World History
  • Create and save your own timeline.

eBooks

  • Offers a variety of eBooks that you can read from the site.

Activity Center

  • Search by categories, age range, type of activity, culture, holiday themes, cost of materials, and time to complete.
  • Share your projects.
  • Featured activity includes pictures, supplies needed, and step by step instructions for completing the project.
  • How-to section

Discover

  • Reference Tools – Dictionary, visual dictionary, atlas, timelines, my research, how to do research, world book explains videos, citation builder
  • Life Skills – buying a car (factors to consider before buying, what to look for when test driving), getting a credit card, apartment hunting, and many more skills focused mainly on financial situations
  • Find by topic
  • Places shows an image, map, and information about the place. Offers different formats for citing the article.

Dramatic Learning

  • Plays by grade level, subject and title
  • Actor’s Corner- activities, monologues, skits, play starters
  • Skits offers a wide selection with steps to perform them
  • About the Authors
  • Print, e-mail or save the information

Various Spanish resources

Science Power

  • Search by lesson content, topic, textbook, curriculum standard
  • Featured Scientist
  • Science Lab – experiments, extension activities, critical thinking, graphic organizers
  • Experiments section provides descriptions, supplies needed for the experiments, and procedures for how to do them. Print, e-mail, or save them.
  • Ask a scientist

Social Studies Power

  • Search by lesson content, Lexile, browse by strand, curriculum standard, textbook
  • Featured Important People
  • Literacy tools – Extension Activities, Inquiry Projects, Critical Thinking, Graphic Organizers
  • Extension Activities’ Organization of Government section offers a world challenge game geared toward a classroom activity
  • Geography & Civics Tools – compare places, map skills, geography games, interactive earth, local resources, ask a Historian, iCivics
  • Ask a Historian section includes a featured question and an option for downloading a video for the answer. It also gives the option to ask your own question